Call for submissions for the Sapir Prize

The Edward Sapir Book Prize was established in 2001 and is awarded in alternate years to a book that makes the most significant contribution to our understanding of language in society, or the ways in which language mediates historical or contemporary sociocultural processes. The SLA invites books with conceptual and theoretical focus, as well as ethnographic and descriptive works. Single-or multi-author books – but not edited collections – are eligible. Books must have been published in 2006, 2007, or 2008 to be eligible.

Three copies of books submitted for consideration should be sent to the address below by June 15th. (It is sometimes possible for authors to request that their publishers send them.) A committee appointed by the president of the SLA will evaluate all submissions. The winner will be announced at the SLA Business Meeting during the AAA Annual Meeting in November.

Three copies of books submitted for consideration should sent to:

Joseph Errington
PO Box 208277
Yale Station
New Haven CT 06520

By private delivery company:
Joseph Errington
10 Sachem St.
New Haven CT 06520

3 Responses

  1. timelf
    timelf July 12, 2009 at 3:39 am |

    Is there some reason this site has no list of previous recipients of the Sapir prize, much less descriptions of the works being awarded?

  2. Alexandre Enkerli
    Alexandre Enkerli December 5, 2009 at 7:03 am |
  3. kerim
    kerim December 5, 2009 at 4:52 pm |

Comments are closed.