Skip to content
Home » Blog (hidden) » Edward Sapir Book Prize 2016

Edward Sapir Book Prize 2016

Submission Deadline: May 15, 2016

The Edward Sapir Book Prize was established in 2001 and is awarded to a book that makes the most significant contribution to our understanding of language in society, or the ways in which language mediates historical or contemporary sociocultural processes. Beginning in 2012, the Sapir Prize has been awarded annually.

Submissions are now open for the 2016 prize. The SLA invites books with conceptual and theoretical focus, as well as ethnographic and descriptive works. Single-or multi-author books – but not edited collections – are eligible. Books must have been published between June 2013 and December 31, 2015 to be eligible for the 2016 award. Any given book is eligible only in only one round of competition.

Three copies of books submitted for consideration should be sent to the address below by May 15, 2016. (Publishers will often send them at the author’s request.) A committee appointed by the president of the SLA will evaluate all submissions. The winner will be determined by November 2016 and the author will be notified in advance of the AAA annual meeting and assume responsibility for notifying the publisher.

The Sapir Prize will be formally awarded at the SLA Business Meeting during the AAA Annual Meeting in 2016.

Three copies of books submitted for consideration should be sent to:

Bonnie Urciuoli
President, Society for Linguistic Anthropology
Anthropology Department
Hamilton College
Clinton NY 13323